Ashley Fure signs with Edition Peters


We are pleased to announce that American composer Ashley Fure has signed a publishing agreement with Edition Peters, beginning with the publication of four of her works: Bound to the Bow, Therefore I Was, Shiver Lung, and Shiver Lung II.

Fure's musical practice, with its focus on the exploration of physical spaces, unusual sound sources, and acoustical phenomena, brushes away the distinctions between classical composition, installation art, and experimental performance. Her work has earned her such recognition as a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Rome Prize in Music Composition, and a Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award.

A finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in 2017, her New York Philharmonic commission Bound to the Bow was described by the prize jury as 'a mesmerizing orchestral piece, at once rigorous and evocative, by a sure-handed composer,' and Fure was commissioned again by the New York Philharmonic to compose their 2018/19 season opener, Filament, of which the New York Times’ Anthony Tommasini remarked, 'I loved being part of this enveloping sonic and communal experience.' Upon the International Contemporary Ensemble's premiere of her opera for objects The Force of Things, Alex Ross called the work 'an imposing musical construction, which maintains ritualistic intensity over a fifty-minute span.'

Most recently, the CTM Festival presented her site-specific piece Hive Rise at Berlin nightclub Berghain. On 8 February, at Festival ECLAT in Stuttgart, the SWR Symphonieorchester will perform Bound to the Bow (winner of the Kompositionspreis der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart 2019), and later that evening, Ensemble Modern will premiere Together Games for moving voices and ensemble.

'Ashley Fure has a unique voice,' says Kathryn Knight, President of C. F. Peters Corp., the New York office of the global Edition Peters Group. 'Her visionary approach and her imaginative exploration of the possibilities of sound are very exciting.'

'Ashley's music is a fitting addition to the Peters catalogue, alongside other sonic explorers from the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries,' adds Gene Caprioglio, C.F. Peters' Vice President for New Music & Rights. 'We are excited to be able to support this innovative and visionary artist, and to share her music with a growing worldwide audience.'


Visit Fure's composer page for more information.

© 2017-

Peters Edition Ltd

2-6 Baches Street

London N1 6DN

Registered Company 337746    VAT Reg. 232 247882

powered by PRIAM © 2020
Cookie Control
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer to enhance your browsing experience.